This article describes how to manage user roles in Google Ad Manager. You'll learn how to view built-in user roles and their permissions and different ways to manage custom user roles.
On this page:
View built-in user roles and their permissions
Requires permissionThe ability to view user roles in Google Ad Manager is only available to users with a user role that includes the Edit users, roles, and teams permission. The "Administrator" user role includes this by default, but it's possible for a custom role to also include this permission. If you aren't an administrator, you can learn more about this role and what to do next. |
- Sign in to Google Ad Manager.
- Navigate to Admin, then Access & authorization, and then Roles.
- Next to
, click Add new filter, and then:
- Click Built-in, and select Yes.
- Click Apply.
- Under "Name," review the list of built-in roles.
- (Optional) Review other details on the table:
- Status: Indicates whether the role is "Active" or "Inactive." Built-in roles have the status "Active."
- Built-in: Indicates whether the role is a "Built-in" or "Custom" role.
- Description: Offers a brief description of a role's access or permissions.
- To view all the permissions granted to a built-in role:
- Under "Name," click the name of a built-in role, such as Administrator.
- Review the list of permissions.
If a box next to a permission is checked, the role includes that permission. To learn more about each permission, visit User role permissions.
Manage custom user roles
Requires permissionThe ability to view and edit user roles in Google Ad Manager is only available to users with a user role that includes the Edit users, roles, and teams permission. The "Administrator" user role includes this by default, but it's possible for a custom role to also include this permission. If you aren't an administrator, you can learn more about this role and what to do next. |
View your custom roles
- Sign in to Google Ad Manager.
- Navigate to Admin, then Access & authorization, and then Roles.
- Next to
, click Add new filter, and then:
- Select the value No.
- Click Apply.
The filter displays "No" for built-in user roles.
- Under "Name," review the list of your custom roles.
Tip: On the table, custom roles have the value "No" under "Build-in."
Create a custom role
- Sign in to Google Ad Manager.
- Navigate to Admin, then Access & authorization, and then Roles.
- Click New role.
- Enter a name and a description for the role.
- (Optional) To use the permissions of an existing role as a starting point for your custom role, in the "Copy permissions from role," search box, select an existing role from the menu.
- Under each category, such as "Trafficking and delivery," check the box next to each permission you want to include with the role.
Tip: To check or uncheck all the boxes in a category, next to "Select," click All or None.
- Click Save.
Edit a custom role
- Sign in to Google Ad Manager.
- Navigate to Admin, then Access & authorization, and then Roles.
- Click the name of the role you'd like to edit.
Note that you can only edit roles with the "Active" status.
- Edit the name, description, and selected permissions.
- Click Save.
Edit the active or inactive status of a custom role
If you don't plan to add new users to a custom role, you can set the role to the "Inactive" status. This setting doesn't affect users already assigned to the role.
Only custom user roles can be set to "Inactive." Inactive roles can't be edited and new users can't be added to inactive roles, but users already in an "Inactive" role retain their permissions.
- Sign in to Google Ad Manager.
- Navigate to Admin, then Access & authorization, and then Roles.
Under "Status," you can check the current status of a role.
- (Optional) To filter for either only active roles or only inactive roles:
- Click Add new filter, then Status.
- Select either only Active or Inactive, and then click Apply.
- Click the name of the role whose status you'd like to change.
- In the top-right corner, click the current status, either Active
or Inactive
, and select a new status.
Changes are saved and applied immediately.