Understand Google updates on your Business Profile

To help keep your Business Profile accurate, Google gathers info from different sources, like user reports and licensed content.

If sources report that your profile info is incorrect or outdated, Google may update your profile. You can review and manage these updates on your Business Profile.

Understand Google updates to your profile

Important: You can’t manage all Google updates through your Business Profile.

Your Business Profile may be updated based on info from different sources. These updates show on Maps, Search, and other Google services.

In the profile editor, text color shows the type of update:

  • Blue: Shows info changed by Google.
  • Black or white: No updates from Google.

Tip: If your profile has Google updates, you’ll find a notification at the top of the page.

Understand notifications about suggested edits

Google may receive suggestions from users to update your Business Profile. To help you maintain accurate information and provide more control, Google will notify you about certain suggested edits before they are published.

  • If a suggested edit requires your review, you may receive an email or an in-product notification. Once notified, you have 4 days to accept or reject the suggestion.
  • If you don’t respond within 4 days, Google may automatically publish the update if it is supported by other publicly available information, such as your business website.

Important:

  • Google may apply suggested user edits to your business information without prior review. This happens in cases where edits must meet policy guidelines.
  • You can always update your Business Profile directly to ensure it remains accurate. Learn how to edit your Business Profile.

Understand bulk uploads & updates

When you use a spreadsheet to update multiple locations, make sure to import them before you manage Google updates. Here’s what to keep in mind:

  • If a field stays the same as your last upload, Google ignores it: Your info remains unchanged, and Google doesn’t accept or discard updates for that field.
  • If you change a field, the system accepts the new value: This new value replaces both the previous value and any updated info.
  • If a field is blank: An automatic update may apply.

Particularly personal places

Google may identify your Business Profile as a particularly personal place. In most cases, Maps designates particularly personal places automatically with data from websites, users, and businesses. Some places may also be added manually. This designation does not impact your Business Profile's visibility nor does it reduce users’ ability to interact with it on Maps and Search.

Learn more about particularly personal places.

If you’d like to provide feedback about whether your business is particularly personal, you can complete this form.

Related resources

Search
Clear search
Close search
Main menu
14911273652607545722
true
Search Help Center
false
true
true
true
true
true
99729
false
false
false
false
false
false