You can request to have your file reviewed if you don’t think your file violates Google's Terms of Service or program policies. If you own a file that’s been flagged for a violation, you may see a flag next to the filename and you won’t be able to share it. Your file will no longer be publicly accessible, even to people who have the link. A file review typically takes around 5 days. The exact time frame depends on the nature of the review request.
If your content or account has been restricted or removed, it was likely reviewed by a human, unless noted otherwise in the relevant product’s specific policies or in the notification that you receive concerning the restriction or removal.
Request a review
When you try to share a file that's been flagged for a violation, you’ll see an option to have the file reviewed. To request a review of the file:
- Open the file.
- Click Share.
- Click Request a review.
Tip:
- To request a review, you must own the file and be logged into the owner account.
- If you're using your phone and logged into multiple accounts, make sure the account you're using in your browser to request a review matches the one in the app.
- When making an appeal, you can update the document or file you are appealing to provide supporting information.
- If restrictions are lifted, the file owner receives a confirmation email notification that access and sharing capabilities are restored.
Disabled accounts
If you own the account, you can request access to it again.
- Sign in to your Google Account on a browser, like Chrome.
- Select Start Appeal.
- Follow the instructions.
Report a violation
If you want to flag a file, learn how to report a violation.